WGLT Honored with Four Murrow Awards

gltlogoThe Radio Television Digital News Association has recognized the WGLT News Department with four regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for broadcast excellence. Since 2005, WGLT has won twenty-four regional and three national Edward R. Murrow Awards. Last month, the Illinois Associated Press announced WGLT had won seven awards for broadcast excellence.

GLT’s coverage of the school shooting at Normal Community High School on September 7, 2012 won in the Breaking News Category. Included in consideration for the award was an exclusive interview GLT aired that afternoon with one of the students who helped disarm the shooter. No one was hurt.

Daniel Hajek’s report on Bloomington-Normal’s introduction to food trucks took the award for Best Feature. His story “Two Blokes and a Bus” featured Twin City residents sampling the food and explored the tension felt by traditional restaurants.

The GLT News team (Hajek, Charlie Schlenker, Jim Browne, Willis Kern and Laura Kennedy) won the Best News Series category for a second straight year with their look at the agriculture industry in “Farming: A Growing Concern.” Schlenker won in Best Sports for his story about a central Illinois speed skater.

“The GLT News team continues to represent a standard of excellence few can match. We are especially proud of recognition for the entire team in the Best News Series category. Every day each member of the news team works hard to deliver the highest quality reporting. These awards are confirmation of that hard work,” says GLT General Manager Bruce Bergethon.

GLT News is being honored in the region which includes small market stations in Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Michigan. Communities are in the small market division unless they are larger than 1,462,000 people. With 4 awards, GLT News won twice as many as any other station in the region. Each regional award competes for national honors to be announced this summer.

Hear the GLT News award winning segments at www.wglt.org

This entry was posted in School of Communication. Bookmark the permalink.